DWP triggers cold weather payments for thousands of Britons – full list | UK | News

Around 10,000 Brits are set to receive £25 to help towards their heating bills this winter, as the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) issues the first Cold Weather Payments.

Forecasts of sub-zero temperatures in Cumbria, Northumberland and around the Scottish Borders have resulted in the payments being triggered in a total of 19 postcode areas – it is likely other areas will also receive payments in the coming days because of freezing weather conditions expected.

The payments will be made for the seven-day period which started on January 12, 2024.

The payments are made to people in England and Wales who receive a range of benefits and are triggered during cold spells between November 1 and March 31.

Nearly 600,000 payments were issued during a spell of wintry weather in the first two weeks of December last year and in total, more than 5.5 million Cold Weather Payments were made by the DWP during last winter.

Those claiming the following benefits may be eligible for the Cold Weather Payment; Pension Credit, Income Support, income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA), income-related Employment and Support Allowance (ESA), Universal Credit, Support for Mortgage Interest.

However, not everyone on the benefits above will automatically receive the payment – you can check the following government website to determine your eligibility.

The latest payments have been made in areas which are covered by three weather stations – Shap in Cumbria, Redesdale in Northumberland and Eskdalemuir.

There will be around 10,000 people eligible for the payments in these three areas with an estimated 6,000 of these in receipt of Pension Credit.

The full list of postcode areas which will receive a Cold Weather Payment for the period of January 12 to – January 18, 2024 are:

  • CA10 Cliburn, Cumbria
  • CA11 Catterlen, Cumbria
  • CA12 Keswick, Cumbria
  • CA16 Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria
  • CA17 Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria
  • LA8 Kendal, Cumbria
  • LA9 Kendal, Cumbria
  • LA10 Sedbergh, Cumbria
  • LA21 Coniston, Cumbria
  • LA22 Lakes, Cumbria
  • LA23 Windermere, Cumbria
  • CA9 Alston, Cumbria
  • DH8 Burnhope, County Durham
  • NE19 Elsdon, Northumberland
  • NE47 Allendale, Northumberland
  • NE48 Bellingham, Northumberland
  • NE49 Haltwhistle, Northumberland
  • DG14 Dumfries border (parts in England)
  • TD9 Scottish Borders (parts in England)


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.