Security

Urgent warning to ALL Apple users to update software over security flaw that leaves iPhone & iPad exposed to hackers


APPLE users have been warned to update their software over a security flaw that leaves iPhone & iPad exposed to hackers.

A memory corruption issue is said to leave the devices vulnerable to malicious code.

Apple users have been warned to update their software

1

Apple users have been warned to update their softwareCredit: Getty Images – Getty

That makes the iOS 14.7.1 update “even more important”, according to Forbes.

Users have been urged to go to their Settings, choose General, and then hit the Software Update option.

The bug the update fixes had to do with a kernel extension that allows developers to control how a device’s memory handles screen display, according to The Record.

Gaining access to kernel privileges, according to the outlet, gives hackers full control of a device.

The 14.7.1 update will also reportedly address an issue that some iPhone users were having with Apple Watch.

Some users reported that with iOS 14.7, which came out a week before the latest update, their iPhones did not automatically unlock their watchers.

The update comes after iPhone users were warned not to allow their cells to join a public Wi-Fi network automatically when they are on the move.

The warning was issued after a “dangerous” malware bug appeared to break a cell’s Wi-Fi when joining a hotspot with a strange name.

Writing in Forbes, Zak Doffman implored users to change the setting – which is switched on by default – as soon as possible.

“You shouldn’t join public Wi-Fi networks even manually, but you should absolutely, categorically, stop your phone auto-joining such networks without you even realizing,” he wrote on Saturday.

See also  Apple urges users to update all devices after hacktivists reveal zero-day flaw – TechCrunch

He said that this setting “is very likely set up by default to do at the moment”.

To protect yourself, open up the Settings app and tap “WiFi”.

From here go to “Auto-Join Hotspot” and “Ask to Join Networks” and select either “Never”, “Ask to Join”, “Notify” or “Off”.

“If you don’t have multiple networks stored by your device beyond home and work, you can set “Ask to Join Networks” to ‘Off’ or ‘Notify’ to avoid having to click when you are at home or work, but then you must click on the blue-circled ‘i’ next to any other networks you connect to, and disable auto-join,” Doffman said.





READ SOURCE

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.