Modi to open Science Congress in Jalandhar on Jan 3

A large number of eminent scientists, including three Nobel laureates, are expected to participate in the 106th edition of the Indian Science Congress to be held in Jalandhar between January 3-7.

The focal theme of this year’s Science Congress, to be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the Lovely Professional University on Thursday, would be ‘Future India: Science and Technology’.

This is for the second time that the Science Congress is being held in a private institution; the 2012 edition was hosted by KIIT University in Bhubaneswar.

Three Nobel laureates who have confirmed their participation are F Duncan M. Haldane, winner of 2016 Nobel Prize for Physics; Thomas Christian Südhof, winner of the 2013 Nobel Prize for Medicine, and Avram Hershko, winner of the 2004 Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

Among the ministers who are expected to be present at the inauguration are Science and Technology Minister Harsh Vardhan, Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar, Minister for Law and Justice and IT Ravi Shankar Prasad, and Textiles Minister Smriti Irani.

The Prime Minister is scheduled to engage in private discussion with the Nobel winners over a cup of tea.

4-day meet

According to official estimates, as many as 30,000 delegates including eminent scientists, science policymakers, administrators, young researchers and school children would participate in the 4-day meet and associated meetings, such as children’s science congress, women’s science congress and science communicators’ meet.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.